Do You Accept These Terms?

What goes 150 bpm, gets sweaty hands and has trouble putting together fluent sentences? Me during our debate last week! Wow, what a great learning experience! This was my very first debate and I had an awesome team in Stephanie and Haiming. We were doing online sharing to the max and I loved it! We disagreed that “Openness and sharing in schools is Unfair to kids” and had great opponents with Kelsie, Danielle, and Shannon.

Here was our  opening argument.

 

We focused on 5 major points of why we felt sharing was more than fair for our students.

1. It’s our duty to share

Like Sisk and Stegman, point out “we all need to understand, discuss, teach, model and set expectations around online behaviour that will set our students up for success now and indebate 6 the future and Educators are key in helping students develop lifelong habits.” As educators, it is our responsibility to model, discuss, apply and share. We have a wonderful document, Digital Citizenship Education in Saskatchewan Schools, that is a guide for implementing digital citizenship from k-12. (Sidebar-Let me just say that our province really should put pre-k to grade 12 on their publications 😉 ) If we teach them how to share its more than fair. It’s a disservice to our students if we do not introduce them to all the different skills they may require to live in our ever changing world.

 

2. We live in a connected world where sharing is accepted if not expected

 

We need to model positive uses of social media. I believe that students learn best when we model and engage them in the learning process. When it came to my own digital footprint I always believed that “Less is Best”. I was glad to see that I was not the only one in this tech class that thought this way. Carter and Heidi had similar thoughts about their digital footprint. When  our debate group came across this…

“If you aren’t controlling who you are online, some [one] else is or will”

Steven Anderson Teachers, Take care of Your Digital Footprint

I realized my “Less is best”needs to be updated. I need to begin building my digital footprint and controlling it as best as I can. Luckily there are lots of great resources others have shared. I welcome any suggestions in the comments on where I should start with building my online identity beyond my personal Facebook page and Instagram accounts.

 

3. We need to prepare our students for the world we are learning in

We are living in a technological age and knowledge and connections from around the world are available at our finger tips. We have the opportunity to help prepare our students to navigate the pros and cons of sharing and learning online.

Janelle Bence has her students share their work online. The students have had a positive experience and believe it is more authentic learning. I really enjoyed the video of the students sharing why they enjoyed the sharing, that was the inspiration for our end video “If you don’t show me, who will?” starring the ever adorable – Miss S.  In order for sharing like this to work students need to be educated on how to do it and teachers need to have PD and guidelines to follow. PEEL School district in Ontario created a very thorough document of guidelines for their teachers, administrators, parents and students to follow.

I found it interesting to read that they do not allow field trip details to be posted before an event. I never even thought of this risk before. IF I had a student that had custody issues all it wo

Photo Credit: cchana via Compfight cc

uld take is for this person to go on our school website and pull up the calendar and see the day and time and location of our field trip. In my class blog I always post our newsletters and calendars and reminders for upcoming field trips and events- important to be sure that this information is only shared on private pages where the public would not have access to them.

One of the many conversations that would need to take place with students is private sharing vs public sharing and know when, how and why there is a difference and what should be shared where.

 

 

4. Sharing is the foundation of education

Sharing is the how we learn.

When we were preparing for the debate we tried to develop analogy for sharing in the classroom. This is what I  came up with and why I think sharing in schools is vital.

 

Education is, first and foremost, an enterprise of sharing. In fact, sharing is the sole means by which education is effected. If an instructor is not sharing what he or she knows with students, there is no education happening.” (Wiley & Green, 2012)

When we share the issue of oversharing comes up. Oversharing is going to happen, but at least if we are teaching about it in a safe place at school we can use that oversharing as a teachable moment.

After reading Linda Geddes article about oversharing I have been feeling a little guilty about posting photographs of our daughter.I found that Amy and Ashley also talked about their concerns of oversharing and becoming a “Sharent“. I post a weekly picture of our little babe, with a little blurb about what we are learning, eating, experiencing, etc. It’s always something positive and the photographs are not embarrassing, but is it too much? I really don’t think so. Its shared with my family and friends and doesn’t give too much information. Right now it is my responsibility to keep her safe in the physical world and online and as she gets older we will begin the conversation about what we are sharing and if it is OK to share and with whom.

 

5. Creating open pathways, enhances how we learn

Schools provide an optimal environment for teaching students about how, where, when and why they want to share.   It also provides a way to continually share these expectations with parents. Parents need to be involved in their child’s education and we can work together by sharing information letters home with parents or offering information sessions – teachers can explain how they are using technology in their classrooms and share their expectations of use.

I appreciated the resources that many of you have shared.  Dean was one of our digital learning coach in Regina Catholic Schools and shared many ideas and resource links in his post this week. We are very lucky to have people in our division to help with implementing good sharing habits in our classrooms. We are also lucky to have each other,  in this class, to turn to. If you are interested in some additional resources our team put together this list of resources. There are many resources that you could use as guidelines and get some ideas from! Resources like Educators Guide to sharing online with ConnectSafely.org and The 9 Essential Elements of Digital Citizenship by ­ Mike Ribble, and much more!

8736954584_53e95d9c56_o.jpg

Photo Credit: get directly down via Compfight cc

I have had nothing but a positive experience from this class with openness and sharing. I am able to connect with others, share ideas and work collaboratively on assignments. I feel that when I am writing a blog post I am putting a different amount of effort in. I want people to want to read my posts, putting thought into my title, my links and my phrasing. Not only that, but once I post, classmates read and make comments and the reflecting and learning continues! A much more engaging and authentic learning tool than simply writing a reflection and handing it in for my prof to put a check mark at the top and hand it back.  What kind of learning experiences do we want our students to be part of?

Do you accept these terms? So often we don’t read the fine print, we are quick to hit accept or sign permission before really understanding what we are agreeing to. Lets have conversations about sharing, oversharing, privacy, safety and permanency with our students and families so we all can be better citizens in the digital  and physical worlds.

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Do You Accept These Terms?

  1. Pingback: Start the conversation…. Sharing Matters – What's Your Story?

  2. Well said Lisa!! Great to work with you too! I think like you say we need to stop and think about what we are sharing. Is it too much? Is it positive? It is our job to keep not only our own children safe but to help those that we see everyday become a little bit more thoughtful about their own digital footprints.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wow…it did not even cross my mind that sharing something like a field trip date or a monthly calendar online could be problematic in a case of privacy pertaining to custody issues. I feel quite ashamed that this has never even crossed my mind. Thanks for making note of this and helping me by more “share aware”.

    Like

    • Ya out of curiosity I went online to some school websites and was able to see where classes are going on field trips either through the schools calendar or on classroom blogs. It’s not something I would have thought of before either… I wonder if we do need to be more careful with this information?

      Like

Leave a Reply

